Hacktoberfest2022 - OS_100Days

OS_100Days: An Opensource project

This is my first ever blog on Hashnode and, to be honest, I have very little idea what I'm doing!

I have been building up my tech knowledge since May 2022 and have mastered the basics of HTML and CSS but still have much more to learn.

I have recently joined Coding with Drew at codingwithdrew.com and have had the opportunity to get involved in an Opensource project to design a reminder app to give people undertaking 100DaysofCode reminders to ensure they record material each day rather than starting but not recording anything down! This is a really interesting project as I have started 100DaysofCode myself and was constantly skipping my recording because it has got to the end of the day, and I was too tired to put something down in my Github profile or Twitter profile. It is not too late for you to join if you want to get involved - just go to github.com/drewlearns/OS_100days to find out more.

Although I knew the very basics of git and github before collaborating on this project, I had no idea what a "pull request" or "issue", etc, was so had to learn more about it. My background is social work and the idea of collaborating with others is nothing new to me, but I have found it quite difficult collaborating with people I don't know all of whom have different skills and abilities. The key has been making sure we have one main individual to lead the project and weekly meetings to track progress.

I have honestly found it more frustrating working in this way than simply doing my own thing but as someone who is new to coding it has been helpful getting to know how git and github work.